DEPECHE MODE: Global Spirit Tour @ Air Canada Centre (Sep 3, 2017)

“People are people so why should it be
You and I should get along so awfully”
                  “People Are People”
Some Great Reward (1984)


It’s been over 30 years since Depeche Mode released it’s 1984 single “People Are People”, and with their latest political responsive LP release “Spirit” — it seems the times haven’t changed at all it seems.

Influential? There has always been an engaging, introspective darkness to how Depeche Mode engages it’s audience. Their impact among artists include: Arcade Fire, Lady Gaga, Marilyn Manson, NIN, Rammstein, Muse, Deftones, Guns n’ Roses and even Sammy Hagar.

Touring behind their recent LP release  “Spirit”, moody vociferate selections dominated the first quarter of the setlist with: “Going Backwards”, “So Much Love”, “Cover Me”, “Poison Heart”, and first single “Where’s the Revolution“.


Mixing with “Spirit” material, some unearthed selections were mined from Depeche Mode‘s extensive discography albums such as:  Ultra‘s “Barrel of a Gun”, Songs of Faith and Devotion’sIn Your Room“; Sounds of the Universe‘s “Wrong”, and Black Celebration‘s “Stripped”.

Of course, anthemic mainstays such as: “Everything Counts“, “Enjoy the Silence“, “Never Let Me Down Again” and encore set staple “Someday” satisfied the diehard, rallying crowd.


Depeche Mode finished off their encore set with a tribute to David Bowie with “Heroes” and hardbeat-rhythmic closer “Personal Jesus“. Timeless Mode.


  • Going Backwards
  • So Much Love
  • Barrel of a Gun (with ‘The Message’ (Grandmaster Flash) snippet)
  • A Pain That I’m Used To (‘Jacques Lu Cont’s remix’ version)
  • Corrupt
  • In Your Room
  • World in My Eyes
  • Cover Me
  • A Question of Lust (acoustic)
  • Home
  • Poison Heart
  • Where’s the Revolution
  • Wrong
  • Everything Counts
  • Stripped
  • Enjoy the Silence
  • Never Let Me Down Again







Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial