imagineNATIVE announces Award Winners from 2020 Festival

imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival
2020 Festival Award Winners
Presenting Partner: Crave

On Sunday, October 25, 2020 at imagineNATIVE’s online Awards Presentation, the esteemed Sun Jury and Moon Jury considered film, video, audio, and digital media works from Canadian and international Indigenous artists to select winners in 16 categories with over $53,000 in cash prizes and in-kind services.

Hosted by Tiffany Ayalik, theimagineNATIVE’s Awards Presentation also included musical performances by Decree and Fawn Wood.

In 2019 imagineNATIVE became the first and only Indigenous film festival in the world to be a Qualifying Festival for the Best Live Action Short category for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. This means that NJOUKCAMAT (THE TONGUES)by Marja Bål Nango and Ingir Bål Nango, the 2020 winner for Best Live Action Short (in recognition of iN founders Cynthia Lickers-Sage and Vtape),will be eligible to submit for the Best Live Action Short category at the Oscars.

The imagineNATIVE Audience Choice Award, Feature Film with support from Air Canada, and the Audience Choice Award, Short Film with support from BMO, will be announced after the Festival.

Kim Wheeler,  Mélina Quitich Niquay, Lorne Cardinal, and Theola Ross

The 2020 imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival Award Winners are:

Best Documentary Work Long Format
In recognition of the legacy of Alanis Obomsawin with support from CBC for a $5,000 cash prize
Miguel Hilari – Compañía

Best Documentary Work Short Format
with support from TVO for a $2,500 cash prize
Theola Ross – Êmîcêtôsêt: Many Bloodlines

New Voice in Storytelling Award
In honour of Jane Glassco and Ellen Monague with support from the CJ Foundation and Humber College for a $2,500 cash prize
Marc Fussing Rosbach – NAJA (Little Sister)

The Sun Jury Award
with support from the Directors Guild of Canada for a $2,500 cash prize
Evelyn Pakinewatik – Mooz Miikan

Best Dramatic Feature
With support from CRAVE for a $7,500 cash prize
Kiel McNaughton – The Legend of Baron To’a

Best Live Action Short
In recognition of founders Cynthia Lickers-Sage and Vtape with support from Vtape ($2,500) and a donation from Jason Ryle ($5,000) for a $7,500 cash prize
Marja Bål Nango and Ingir Bål Nango – NJOUKCAMAT (THE TONGUES)

Award for Innovation in Storytelling
In recognition of Kent Monkman, with support from Sobeys ($2,500) and a donation from Kent Monkman ($5,000) for a $7,500 cash prize
Marja Helander – Suodji (Shelter)

Best Indigenous Language Production
with support from Indigenous Media Initiatives for a $2,500 cash prize
Hinaleimoana Wong-Kalu – Kapaemahu

The Moon Jury Award
with support from the Directors Guild of Canada for a $2,500 cash prize
Nivi Pedersen – Pilluarneq Ersigiunnaarpara

Digital + Interactive Award, Mid-Career
with support from imagineNATIVE for a $2,500 cash prize
Karla Hart – Virtual Whadjuk

Digital + Interactive Award, Early-Career
with support from imagineNATIVE for a $1,500 cash prize
Mélina Quitich Niquay – Metaperotin

Experimental Audio Award
with support from imagineNATIVE for a $2,000 cash prize
Nathan Adler – Gaawiin Gego

Narrative Audio Award
with support from imagineNATIVE for a $2,000 cash prize
Kim Wheeler – Blood Money

The August Schellenberg Award of Excellence
with support from Joan Karasevich Schellenberg, ACTRA National and ACTRA Fraternal Benefit Society for a $2,500 cash prize
Lorne Cardinal

APTN/imagineNATIVE Web Series Pitch Competition
$40,000+in kind prizing, $30,000 licensing fee from APTN, and$10, 000 cash towards production fromBell Fund along with additional in kind services
Kin – Thirza Cuthand, Justin Ducharme, and Lindsay Nixon

imagineNATIVE will showcase a selection of the award winning films with virtual Award Winners screenings on Sunday, October 25 at 9pm ET.

On Saturday, October 24, imagineNATIVE announced the launch of the new Harmonize: Music Video Mentorship, supported by Slaight Music, at the annual Indigenous music showcase The Beat. Formerly known as the The Bullseye Prize, the Harmonize: Music Video Mentorship is an opportunity for an Indigenous musician and Indigenous director team to collaborate on a music video. The music video will premiere at next year’s imagineNATIVE. Applications will open in November.

imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival
Award Winners Screenings

Sunday, October 25
Available to stream at 9pm ET
Award Winners I

Award Winners II

For more information visit



, , , ,




2 responses to “imagineNATIVE announces Award Winners from 2020 Festival”

  1. erotik Avatar

    If you want to use the photo it would also be good to check with the artist beforehand in case it is subject to copyright. Best wishes. Aaren Reggis Sela

    1. admin Avatar

      Hello Aaren Reggis Sela for commenting. We are promoting the Winners of imagineNATIVE and not profiting in anyways off the promotional materials supplied by the PR Agency. Thank You for bringing this up.

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial