JOHNNY MARR “Call The Comet” EXCLUSIVE ALBUM LAUNCH PARTY @ The Velvet Underground (May 30, 2018)

“Best I felt (and that’s saying something)…”

With the only stop in Canada, ex-The Smith’s guitar legend Johnny Marr played Toronto’s Velvet Underground to a small group of hardcore, devoted fans.

Promoting his latest album “Call The Comet”, the exclusive album launch party was one of only twelve designated dates worldwide.

The jovial crowd (in good spirits) were “packed like sardines” in the small, sweaty, capacity-filled Velvet Underground nightclub (shades of late University nights for the nostalgic).

Opening with “The Tracers” from the latest LP “Call The Comet”, and into The Smiths classic, “Bigmouth Strikes Again”, the audience of mixed music generations were genuinely appreciative of the new material and classics.


Of course, this was a launch party for Marr’s latest LP, “Call The Comet”, thus new tracks such as, “Rise”,  “Day In Day Out”, “New Dominions”, “Hi Hello”, “Walk Into the Sea”, and a dedication to the current POTUS, “Bug” were met with raucous applause.

“A little tune from Manchester, England…” was included in the setlist, the 1989 collaboration with New Order’s Bernard Sumner called Electronic, Getting Away With It.

Marr also touched upon his last album “Playland” with “Easy Money” and “Boys Get Straight” and finished off the set with The Smiths’, “How Soon Is Now?”.


Finally, Marr closed off the show with encore pieces, “New Town Velocity”, and another Smiths classic, “There Is a Light That Never Goes Out” to a sweaty, drenched, amped-up Toronto audience.

Luckily for all, Marr will be back in the autumn for a full-fledge tour.

Waiting for the “Comet” to return…


  • The Tracers
  • Bigmouth Strikes Again (The Smiths song)
  • Jeopardy
  • Day In Day Out
  • New Dominions
  • Hi Hello
  • The Headmaster Ritual (The Smiths song)
  • Walk Into the Sea
  • Getting Away With It (Electronic song)
  • Bug
  • Last Night I Dreamt That Somebody Loved Me (The Smiths song)
  • Easy Money
  • Boys Get Straight
  • Rise
  • How Soon Is Now? (The Smiths song)


  • New Town Velocity
  • There Is a Light That Never Goes Out (The Smiths song)



4 responses to “JOHNNY MARR “Call The Comet” EXCLUSIVE ALBUM LAUNCH PARTY @ The Velvet Underground (May 30, 2018)”

  1. flounders Avatar

    I vіsited multiple web sites except the audio ԛuality for auɗio
    songѕ present at tһis web site is really wonderful.

  2. Sherri Avatar

    I found your internet site from Google as well as I have to say it was a great
    find. Many thanks!

  3. Samual Avatar

    Can you inform me what system are you making use of on this site?

  4. Everette Avatar

    I located your web site from Google as well as I have to claim it was a great find.

Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial