Telefilm Canada Supports the Creation of 10 Indigenous Feature Films

Telefilm Canada announces the support of 10 Indigenous feature films with an annual $4 million dedicated to funding Indigenous creators through the Indigenous Stream. The selection of these projects presents an array of genres from drama to thriller, science-fiction and documentary, with three of these films directed by women and three directed or co-directed by those who self-identify as gender-diverse.

In its fourth year, Telefilm has received more than double the amount of applications through the Indigenous Stream compared to its inaugural year. All submissions are evaluated by an external all-Indigenous jury.

We are pleased to see a steady growth of Indigenous applications through this Indigenous Stream and we welcome more Indigenous creators to apply, not only to this dedicated stream, but to all our programs

Christa Dickenson, Executive Director, Telefilm Canada. 

“We are pleased to see a steady growth of Indigenous applications through this Indigenous Stream and we welcome more Indigenous creators to apply, not only to this dedicated stream, but to all our programs,” said Christa Dickenson, Executive Director, Telefilm Canada. “As Telefilm continues to evolve, our priority of working through the lens of greater inclusivity remains the focus.”

As an extension of Telefilm’s commitment to greater transparency, and facilitating access, an Indigenous Initiatives webpage has been created to provide information to help directors, writers and producers from Indigenous communities apply to the various funding programs available at Telefilm.

“We are committed to increasing the representation of Indigenous creators within Telefilm’s portfolio with the involvement of the Indigenous Working Group, an Indigenous jury and our Lead, Indigenous Initiatives, Adam Garnet Jones,” added Christa Dickenson. “We all benefit with the amplification of Indigenous voices and their storytelling.”

Selected Projects:

Directors: Ryan Cooper and Noam Gonick
Writers: Joy Keeper, Noam Gonick, Pearl (aka Josh Neufeld Wade) and Onalee Ames
Producers: Tina Keeper and Juliette Hagopian
Province: Manitoba

Director/Writer: Alexander Lasheras
Producers: Arun Fryer and Nicolas Ayerbe-Barona
Province: British Columbia

Don’t Look Down
Director/Writer: Kelvin Redvers
Producer: Mark Miller
Province: British Columbia

Don’t Say Its Name
Director: Reuben Martell
Writers: Reuben Martell and Gerald Wexler
Producers: Renee Collins and Carolyn McMaster
Province: Alberta

Finality of Dusk
Director: Madison Thomas
Writers: Madison Thomas and Katarina Ziervogel
Producers: Lisa Meeches, Darcy Waite, Kyle Irving and Rebecca Gibson
Province: Manitoba

Director/Writer: Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers
Producer: Lori Lozinski
Province: British Columbia

Directors/Writers: Sean Stiller and Rémy Huberdeau
Producers: Lisa Jackson, Lauren Grant and Rémy Huberdeau
Province: Ontario

Under the Talent to Watch Program:

Alter Boys

Director and writer: Jonathan Lawrence
Producer: Ryan Cooper
Partner: On Screen Manitoba
Province: Manitoba

Director and writer: Mary Galloway
Producer: Jessie Anthony
Partner: Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television – Canadian Academy Directors Program for Women
Province: British Columbia

The Green Waterways
Director and writer: Kennlin Barlow
Producer: Corrina Merasty
Partner: New Brunswick Filmmakers Co-operative Limited
Province: New Brunswick

About Telefilm Canada
Telefilm is dedicated to the cultural, commercial and industrial success of Canada’s audiovisual industry. Through funding and promotion programs, Telefilm supports dynamic companies and creative talent at home and around the world. Telefilm also makes recommendations regarding the certification of audiovisual coproduction treaties to the Minister of Canadian Heritage, and administers the programs of the Canada Media Fund. Launched in 2012, the Talent Fund accepts private donations which principally support emerging talent.

Visit and follow us on Twitter at and on Facebook at



, , ,



Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial